Pineapple Coleslaw

I remember the first time I made this salad. CWM and I had just recently started dating and his Momma had asked me to bring a salad to family dinner. Naturally I wanted to impress, however as you all know, my cooking style is simple and no fuss. I decided to go with a coleslaw but I was determined to jazz it up. I am not sure where the idea came from but before I knew it I was whipping up this light and delicious coleslaw. I think the salad was a hit and I have since come to realize this slaw goes with absolutely everything! We have it withBBQ chicken, pulled pork, salmon, and even steaks! I hope you enjoy as much as we do.

The ingredients for the dressing are simple but as you know, I am awful with portions so add as much of each until it tastes delicious. Start by whisking together:

2 tbsp of Spicy Mustard

Juice from one lemon

Separate 1 can of  pineapple tidbits and juice. Save pineapples for later

2-3 tbsp of honey

2-3 tbsp of plain greek yogurt

Toss coleslaw, 2 handfuls of sunflower seeds, and 1 can of pineapple tidbits half an hour before serving to allow time for the slaw to soak up the dressing. When I buy bags of coleslaw I like to buy one plain, one bag of broccoli slaw, and one small bag of shredded carrots, or 2 large carrots shredded at home. 

Enjoy this light and crunchy summer slaw!

Leave a Reply

