Reno Your Rental

Reno Your Rental (On The Cheap)

Being a renter who is trying to save for our own house, I have really learnt how to extend my dollar as far as possible to make a chic, comfortable home I want to spend time in. Our little space has great bones, a ton of light and a great layout, so it’s really just been a matter of stepping it up a little bit. I have wanted to be really careful to keep spending to an absolute minimum. Which is obviously quite difficult. At times, it means being appreciative and not fretting over what I don’t have (a dining room), and other times it has meant being creative, rather than going for something I really want (tile backsplash people!)

So, to kick things off, let’s start with the kitchen. It’s not my white marble and gold accessory haven I stay up late dreaming about, but it’s cute, fresh, and only cost about $30 in hardware because we had all the paint and plywood, and another $25 for this undermount lighting from Ikea.

But first, let’s take a trip down memory lane.

The day we moved in:

IMG_0791

IMG_0803
IMG_0801

IMG_0792

This was during our Christmas party a few weeks after moving in, and it pretty much stayed like this until last month.

IMG_1581

IMG_1552

Now, this is where we are at. Painted cabinets, built cabinet doors for the open concept cabinets ( I love that look if they’re glass and full of crystal but didn’t so much love it as my most accessible cabinets), bought new hardware, attached under mounted lighting, and painted a tile pattern to add a little colour.

We took all of the cabinet doors off and painted them in the garage. While they dried I painted the base of the cabinets to match.  If you didn’t want to buy new hardware you could also just  spray paint yours. I didn’t want any ware so I opted to buy new handles, but spray painted all of the hinges and screws.

I desperately wanted to do a tile backsplash but I realized how silly that is when we are trying to put every penny towards our own place. Once I accepted that I started to research creative ways to add interest and I came across this look on Pinterest (of course!). It’s a bit hard to tell in these pictures but there are 4 colours on it. Grey, turquoise, navy, and where the white boxes were left I mixed the grey with a white to come up with a lighter colour that ties it all together. The taping was the hardest part, but nothing a  level and my handman couldn’t handle.

Paint Tiling

DIY Undermounted Lighting

Reno Your Rental Kitchen

Freshened Up Rental Kitchen

IMG_0490  IMG_0495

IMG_0502

So voila! All it takes is a little paint on the walls, and cabinets, and you’ve got yourself a total refresher. What do ya think?

Kirsten xo

Leave a Reply

